Tuckman’s Model of Group Development

In the 1960s-70s Bruce Tuckman debuted the Tuckman Model of Group Development which asserts that teams progress toward various stages during their progression from inception to functioning.  In this model, as teams mature and increase in ability, the leader changes from a directing leader to eventually a more delegating and even detached leader.

Specifically teams move through the following stages:

Stage 1:  Forming
Stage 2:  Storming
Stage 3:  Norming
Stage 4:  Performing
Stage 5:  Adjourning

Over the next few weeks we will dive deep into each of these stages which apply and how you can use this model to strengthen the teams you work with- whether working with youth teams or professional groups.

NEXT WEEK:  Stage 1- Forming.

This entry was posted in Professional Development, Youth Development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s